Plugins and "transitive" dependencies

There has been some discussion on matrix to what extent plugins should or should not depend on pulpcore to pull in their dependencies. As I understood it the central tension was between the following two undesirable situations:

• Concern 1: Not declaring your dependencies explicitly is inherently risky and opaque and by extension bad practice.
  • Concern 2: Plugins and pulpcore all declaring dependencies on the same things (with specific version ranges) risks unsatisfiable dependencies whenever the version ranges from different plugins or pulpcore accidentally diverge.
    • This risk implies a related discussion about how to define sufficiently broad version ranges for dependencies without risking accidental incompatibilities with some new version of some dependency.

I have a few thoughts regarding this discussion, that I want to explain using some concrete examples:

• Example 1: As a plugin author I don’t want to manage any django or asyncio dependencies. I consider these to be an inherent part of pulpcore, and pulpcore alone is responsible for pulling in the right versions, warning plugin authors about breaking changes when pulpcore decides to pull in newer versions, etc. As far as I can tell this is also the status quo of pulp development and has worked well so far, so no action needs to be taken on this front.