Help Understanding Documentation of Promotion Process

I’m new to pulp and have been studying the documentation and feel like I’m missing something. I understand how to setup the repositories, remotes, sync etc. Now I want to setup a typical dev/qa/prod flow for repositories. Dev repository would sync with external repos and then get promoted through qa and prod. Promotion — Pulp Project 3.19.0 documentation outlines the workflow, but I think assumes a bit of knowledge about interacting with the API that I’m lacking. Does anyone have working examples of how to do this type of operation? I’m hoping for something that can use the pulp cli, but httpie commands would also work. I need to perform this workflow for RPM, DEB, and File repositories.

2 Likes

The idea is based on the fact, that repositories in Pulp are versioned. That means every time, you add/remove content, or perform a resync, a new repository version is created, but the previous one is retained (with a lot of deduplication machinery in the backgroud). All of these repository versions are immutable and can therefore be seen as a record of the repository content in time. Now, for RPM, DEB and File content you need publications to add the necessary metadata to the repository versions. Let’s just assume, we have a one to one correspondence there.
Your software lifecyles are now modeled by distributions pointing to specific publications at any point in time. A distribution connects a publication with a web address on the content server and performs optional access control. Promoting the current dev environment to qa is now performed by rewiring the qa-distribution with the publication currently served by the dev-distribution (at that point they will serve the same bits).

Example:

pulp file distribution show --name file-dev

will tell you the path and publication of the dev distribution.